Skip to content

good things

March 16, 2009

i love design. if i could go back to school for free i might study art … a quirky kind of art like ceramics or graphic design. and i’d make hundreds of imperfect pots and coffee cups with character that have little dents for your thumbs and give them to all my friends. 

i also have this undeniable love for antique library card catalogs … it’s true. i secretly want to print these and put them in all of the books in my tiny but growing library. then when my friends borrow my books (which, by the way, i love when people borrow my books and write notes in the margins. if you borrow a book from me, write margins notes) they can name and date it. then twenty years from now when i pull a book off of my built in or ladder bookshelves i can see that twenty years ago one of my dearest friends borrowed this book and it will make me smile. i like that. 

card catalog

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Christie permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:01 pm

    oh my gosh..i love cups with dents in them….that way it doesn’t matter if Flo thinks its good or not…its all about the abstractness of it. and card catalogs…don’t even get me started…you know what…just for you i will start borrowing your books and leaving check-in and check-out dates in the front covers….done and done

  2. Jennifer permalink
    March 16, 2009 11:40 pm

    well… I can think of a few books of yours that have my margin notes still in them. : )
    also, as I was reading your post, my imagination made up all kinds of projects that you would be very likely to do: create your own seal or stamp to punch into the first page; design beautiful return address labels; or you could even design a list of “If you like this book, you should read these books…” for the back.
    also, is this a Martha Stewart photo? Domino? I like it.

  3. March 17, 2009 11:13 pm

    I encourage this kind of behavior.

  4. March 18, 2009 2:09 pm

    is this the card catalog in the library @ ILC? it looks vaguely familiar…hahahaha :)

  5. Cara Maddox permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:35 pm

    i am pleased by all good things….

Leave a Reply

