Skip to content

africa

April 21, 2009

well, i’m finally here. after 2 days of traveling, 4 flights, 2 in-flight movies (curious case of benjamin button and marley & me – seriously who watches that and doesn’t cry?), a london trip that included the tate and platform 9 3/4 (don’t judge), lots of trains and cars and buses and subways…

this week has been a great time of transition. meeting my team has been huge, and i feel so blessed to be around such great people. traci, my partner, has been here for about a year and has been showing me the ropes. plus where does that phrase even come from? show me the ropes? it has also been the best to be reunited with one of my favorite families and now supervisors, the pettigrews. already i’ve been so encouraged by the vision they have for ministry and discipleship.

some thoughts. sunday we went to church and i had my first overwhelming, “what am i doing here?” moment. meeting some of the university students for the first time made my purpose in coming a reality in a way it hadn’t been before and i felt a real burden for the role of true discipleship. which got me to thinking. what does real, genuine discipleship really look like? i think it’s been watered down a little. because i’m seeing more and more that godliness, a working out of social justice, desiring and seeking purity, loving your neighbor as yourself, a strong prayer life, all of these things are rooted out of genuine discipleship and a right understanding of the Gospel and a right understanding of God’ s commands. “teaching them to obey all that He has commanded.” an intentional investment in another person in the Word. i am seeing how little discipleship is focused on and how absolutely necessary it is to the spread of the Gospel and the restoration of those things that have been damaged by sin – our relationship with God, other people, the world, systems in the world…all these things. God is really growing my heart for this which is exciting.

well i leave tomorrow for a month in zambia. no internet for me! it’s going to be a great month though, full of learning, africans, wild animals, mysterious food. plus i heard that there are bats that hide in the toilets and fly out at you sometimes.

see yall in may! 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. devinmaddox permalink
    April 21, 2009 2:06 pm

    We are praying for you and look forward to seeing you in May! (Virtual “seeing.”We’re not coming to visit…yet)

  2. jtharp permalink
    April 22, 2009 2:13 am

    Yay for Zambi and toilet bats! You’re going to be great! I hope it’s a great time of learning and growth. : )

  3. April 22, 2009 3:22 am

    Keely, I love reading your updates! I can’t wait to hear the next one. I know God is going to teach you so much! I will be praying for your transition.

  4. Cara Maddox permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:38 pm

    I wish I wasn’t so sad about “see you in may…” what a phrase. I hope you get to see Batty from Fern Gulley. Praying for you lots and lots!

  5. Karen Tidwell permalink
    April 22, 2009 2:21 pm

    Keely: I am Ben’s mom–you are going to be with one of my favorite couples–the Rudds–during your time in Zambia. I have been and will be praying for you as you go to this area. Can’t wait to hear from all of you in May.

  6. Nathan Sing permalink
    April 22, 2009 2:47 pm

    I found your blog on Erin’s… sounds like things are going great so far. I’m super jealous that you’re working with the Pettigrews!

  7. April 22, 2009 6:21 pm

    Keely…I LOVE it that you went to Platform 9 and 3/4. No judgment here. Have fun in the bush!

  8. Christie permalink
    April 23, 2009 3:47 pm

    here they say “it is raining ropes”….where do these things come from?!? don’t let me down…i am expecting good things to come from Zambia….don’t be lame and say no snakes, bats, or elephants attacked!

  9. Devin permalink
    May 1, 2009 1:32 pm

    Its may…where are you?

  10. jtharp permalink
    May 9, 2009 1:05 pm

    yeah.

  11. Cara Maddox permalink
    May 12, 2009 6:36 pm

    I’m ready for “see you in may…” Where are you? I wonder this.

  12. Cara Maddox permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:20 pm

    seriously, where are you? it’s your birthday I should get to talk to you ….. just sayin

  13. devinmaddox permalink
    May 21, 2009 1:23 pm

    May 21st: Dear Diary, Still no sign of Keely. Where did she go?

  14. jflora permalink
    May 22, 2009 9:29 am

    hey keely,
    i had so much fun with you at 40/40. you are an amazing journeygirl. i love to see you smile your blog is awesome. love ya girl grace

  15. Cara Maddox permalink
    May 22, 2009 2:44 pm

    Ok, obviously the Maddox have Keely on the brain…. but you said, “See you in May…” FYI, it’s almost June. Also, I’m a needy bot for you.

Leave a Reply

