Skip to content

settling in

May 29, 2009

finally getting settled in a new place makes me want to cook like crazy. i don’t know if it’s a nesting thing or if its because i haven’t been able to cook my own food in a month or two but i’m lovin it. and i’ve been super surprised by all the great things i’ve been able to find here. this picture is for you, mom and dad, from the snobby, organic food side of me that i thank (or blame) you for. :)

IMG_2258

some thing’s i’ve made this week:

guacamole

santa fe soup

giada’s marinara sauce

cinnamon rolls from scratch

suzanne mosley’s banana bread

laura pettigrew’s loaded potato soup

cara’s louisville salsa

 

plus, here are some room pictures of what i’ve done so far: 

IMG_2244

pillows i found at a market in zambia, the fabric on the wall is from zambia too. the women use these long bolts of fabric for skirt wraps. 

IMG_2246

these baskets are handmade here and real popular in botswana. i love how they’re so cute and squatty.

IMG_2249

IMG_2251

my lamp was a south africa find. thanks to kelli for my basket and thanks to jenn for my bud vase! 

IMG_2265

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jtharp permalink
    May 31, 2009 8:46 pm

    1) I love Cara’s louisville salsa! yum!
    2) Nice job on your room. I like the green, white, and navy combo on your bed.
    3) I like those tiny clothes pins.

    Thanks for posting pictures! I love knowing what your new home looks like!

    Jenn

  2. June 1, 2009 7:35 pm

    You’re so fun! Enjoyed traveling with you this morning. Your room is looking beautiful!

  3. Cara Maddox permalink
    June 9, 2009 1:48 pm

    I love your roomie! So fun! and your cooking :)good, no, great post! I love seeing people’s rooms :)

Leave a Reply

