Skip to content

deep in the heart of texas

June 29, 2009

i have this song stuck in my head and have no clue how it got there…

so yesterday i…

1. got locked IN my house and couldn’t go to church. my roommate left before i did and the keys for our door gate that locks on both sides were in my car and i had no extra key. locked in my house, yep. it happened.

2. watched brazil and usa next to a fire curled up in my 35 degree mummy bag drinking coffee and eating smores with the roomie. have i mentioned that i am currently taking donations for a ticket to the world cup? seriously. 2010. i’m only 6 hours away from joburg. please sponsor me.

3. finished the night watching kung fu panda

also i discovered a magazine here that’s based out of south africa called ideas (jenn and cara, yall would love it). its like all the best parts of domino, martha and real simple combined. love these made from crib springs and old cheese graters…

IMG_2423

IMG_2424

IMG_2558

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ben permalink
    June 30, 2009 7:06 am

    Consider yourself lucky it was just the *house*–a girl was locked in the *bathroom* for hours in Senegal and they had to take the door off the hinges.

    And how heartbreaking was the US/Brazil game? I was getting score updates with a bunch of Brazilians. Oh, and it would be tragic if you missed a WC that close.

  2. Cara Maddox permalink
    June 30, 2009 8:35 pm

    oooo :) I love ideas :) neat! Once when I was babysitting two year old twins, they locked me out of the house…. how do two year olds even reach a door knob? it happens to the best of us.

  3. July 5, 2009 3:51 pm

    Yes! What lovely pictures. I’m so glad you found that great resource!

    Cara, I love that story! Also, I told the spoon story yesterday. It will always be one of my favorites.

    Keely, did you laugh to yourself when you realized you were locked in? I’m imaging the way that would play out, and it’s so funny- although sad that you didn’t get to go to church.

Leave a Reply

