Skip to content

“new jersey is your home village?”

March 1, 2010

well guys, it happened. first international car accident.

totally my fault. i was on campus stopped at a stop sign waiting to turn right. a guy was driving, making a right turn onto my street. i started to turn too soon and BAM. right into his driver’s side door. no injuries, but a big dent.

so basically, immediate terror (too strong an adjective?) creeps into my fear-of-all-things-foreign-police-related-not-to-mention-anything-confrontational heart because i am realizing i have no context for what happens in botswana when i hit another person’s car. i mean…will i be sitting in a police station for 8 hours? do i pay fines? do i go to jail?! especially when i realized that i had left my driver’s license in my other bag…in my kitchen…at my apartment…and had no valid identification outside of a REI member card. plus, not really knowing setswana always adds for extra entertainment in situations like this. but i held it all together, at least until my dear team families called to assist – and then there’s something about the people you trust coming to your aid that just makes all the tears come out. ya know? hah, oh man. i was such a weepy mcweeperson. no kidding…

anyway, so we finally get to the police station. and bonus- i was totally blessed to have a kind and helpful officer working with us. so after paying a 500 pula fine, filling out more paperwork than required for my college application process, being asked about my respect for obama, hearing “Yes We Can” about 20 times, asked what my home village is – tennessee or new jersey, and finally my views on the world cup, i was free to go a couple hours later. could have definitely been much worse, and it wasn’t so i’m thankful…

what a day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Traci permalink
    March 7, 2010 1:47 am

    I so wish I could have been there to see this, hold your hand, and maybe even laugh at it later. ;) I love you so much!!!

  2. Cara Maddox permalink
    March 12, 2010 6:48 pm

    I miss you.

Leave a Reply

